Data and detail

While last week I was able to let my mind soar and deliberate the many aspects of critical thinking, this week I’ve had to come back down to earth to deal with more administrative and technology-based matters. What’s great is that I don’t mind at all. It’s part of the infinite variety that running your own business offers and that makes every week and every day different.

So one of the things I have been doing is grappling with e-book metadata and ONIX feeds. I’m quite proud that I even know the meaning of these phrases let alone understand the mechanisms and processes involved. For once I can blind my husband with IT terminology and not feel like the dunce of the family. In addition I’ve been discussing enhancements to our customer database with the software developer – another thing I thought I’d never be able to do. Slowly but surely this database is taking shape, meaning that we will be able to communicate with you more regularly and in a much more targeted way – so that you get to hear about the books you are really interested in.

I’ve been amazed at how much background thinking has been required to get the database working in the way we want it to. It’s definitely a case where attention to detail has been paramount. But hopefully this is what we are good at as publishers of educational materials – it is the attention to detail in terms of the rationale, structure, content and learning features of a textbook that make the learning experience it provides richer, more meaningful and more effective.

Julia

Leave a Reply

