What is the Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training?

This week we are excited to be publishing our first further education title A Complete Guide to the Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training by Lynn Machin, Duncan Hindmarch, Sandra Murray and Tina Richardson. Following Sandra’s blog post yesterday we are pleased to present the first of 4 extracts from the book designed to give you a taster of the content. Let us know what you think, It is taken from Chapter 1: What is the Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training?

From September 2013, it became the responsibility of employers to decide what qualifications were most appropriate for their staff (LSIS, 2013a ). Although the CTLLS qualification, which will cease to exist in 2014, and the new CET qualification have similarities, they also have differences. For example, both qualifications focus on the development of practical skills and both are, according to the QCF, level 4 qualifications. The level of a qualification is determined by its level of difficulty and the standards of knowledge, skills and competence that are required, and they range from entry level to level 8 (Ofqual, 2013 , p1). The CTLLS qualification is made up of 24 credits and can be completed at either level 3 or level 4. The CTLLS qualification was intended for teachers who do not have a full teaching role, as defined by the LLUK ( 2007 ) guidance document. The CET qualification is intended for those who:

  • want a qualification that focuses on practical teaching;
  • want a wide choice of optional units to reflect the context in which they teach;
  • are currently teaching and want to have their experience and practice accredited;
  • can meet the minimum practice requirement of 30 hours but are currently not teaching;
  • are able to undertake a qualification of a medium size;
  • have the potential to study at this level, which is the same level of demand as the first year of an undergraduate degree;
  • are willing to undertake an initial assessment of their skills in English, Mathematics and ICT, record their development needs and to follow an action plan to address them if necessary.


It is made up of 36 credits, with a minimum of 21 credits needing to be at level 4 or above, while the remaining 15 credits can be at levels 3, 4 or 5. One unit of credit is equal to ten notional hours of learning (Ofqual, 2013).  The 36 credits that you need To achieve in order to be accredited with a CET qualification are made up from:


One of the mandatory units is at level 3. The other four are at level 4. Optional units are available at levels 3, 4 and 5.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s